Published on: 2014-10-27

The ITU 19th Plenipotentiary Conference has concluded with the election of the organization’s new Secretary-General and Deputy Secretary-General.
Houlin Zhao of China was elected as new Secretary-General. Mr Zhao previously served as ITU’s Deputy Secretary-General and Director of the ITU’s Telecommunication Standardization Bureau.
Malcolm Johnson of UK was elected as new Deputy Secretary-General. Mr Johnson served as the ITU’s Telecommunication Standardization Bureau Director since 2006. He is also a member of the GeSI Board since 2010.

(Courtesy of ITU – all rights reserved)

The new Secretary-general and Deputy S-G will take office on 1 January 2015 for a four-year term, renewable once. Further information on the election process and results can be found here.
GeSI would like to express its warmest congratulations to Mr Zhao and Mr Johnson. We are glad to have ITU as one of our associate and Board members, and we look forward to a continued collaboration with the organization to advance the global sustainability agenda in ICT and telecommunications.


Join our Newsletter

Receive your dose of sustainable news
and sign up for our newsletter!

Yes, you can use my e-mail address to send me information about GeSI's news, events and activities

   Global e-Sustainability Initiative (GeSI)
c/o Scotland House Rond Point Schuman 6 B-1040 Brussels Belgium